Purchasing a vehicle in Maryland is rather easy. Consumers should also not fear to purchase a vehicle that doesn’t run as they are protected heavily under Maryland lemon law. Simply put, if your vehicle spends more time at the repair shop than on the road, then you need to file a lemon law claim. Working with an attorney who has experience in this area can help move the issue along faster. In most cases, it’s the manufacturer that has the problem and not the dealership. However, the dealer and manufacturer should be able to fix your car promptly so that it runs correctly. Once your car is not able to run correctly, you should report it and get a refund.
Maryland Lemon Law
Under Maryland’s lemon law, your car must be under 24 months old and have been driven less than 18,000 miles since purchase. Cars that continuously need service during this time are subject to being refunded or replaced under the lemon law. However, you have first to prove that the vehicle is a lemon.
Maryland’s laws only apply to certain vehicles, including motorcycles, light trucks, and cars. Your vehicle must be registered in Maryland and have been driven less than 18,000 miles. There are also certain repairs that automatically qualify for lemon law replacement. These include a vehicle that has a brake or system failure as well as a substantial impairment that limits the use of the vehicle.
If you have purchased a lemon in Maryland and wanted to get protect, you should talk to the experts at Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center®. On their website, you can find all of the information about lemon laws and what you need to do file a dispute before it’s too late. You can visit their website online.