In the state of Kansas, drivers face criminal charges if they drive while intoxicated. The charge is established with a breathalyzer test that shows a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.08 percent. Any blood-alcohol content reading that exceeds 0.15 percent is classified as aggravated DUI. DUI Defense Attorneys provide assistance for these drivers facing these offenses.
The Penalties for the 1st Offense
The penalties for a first offense begin with a minimum of forty-eight hours in the county jail. The fines for the offense range between $750 and $1,000. The driver’s license suspension applied after the conviction is thirty days. All defendants who are convicted of any DUI charge are required to install an ignition interlocking device in their vehicle at their own expense.
Penalties for a Second Offense
The penalties applied to a second DUI conviction start with a minimum of five days in the county jail. The sentence can range up to one year. The fines for the offense range between $1,250 to $1,750. The driver’s license suspension for the second conviction is one year.
Penalties for the Third Offense
The penalties for the third offense start with no less than ninety days in the county lockup. The court can apply up to a sentence of one year in jail. The fines for this offense range between $1,750 and $2,500. The driver’s license suspension for the offense is one year. The third conviction and any additional charges are classified as felony offenses. Any accident that results from a DUI could also lead to felony-based charges.
Penalties for the Fourth Offense
The penalties for a fourth DUI offense begin with a sentence of ninety days in the county jail with a maximum of one year. The fine for this offense is $2,500. The driver’s license suspension lasts for one year.
In the state of Kansas, drivers choose to drive under the influence of alcohol provide implied consent for chemical testing. Under applicable laws, consent is provided as soon as the vehicle is mobile. Defendants who are facing these charges contact DUI Defense Attorneys through Addair Thurston Chtd. and schedule an appointment today.